You are here:  Home  >  Calendar >  San Diego League Announces 2021 Schedule

San Diego League Announces 2021 Schedule

By   /  August 27, 2020  /  No Comments


San Diego, CA — The San Diego League today released its 2021 schedule, a slate that runs from June 5 to August 7 and includes the Third-Annual All-Star Game on Saturday, July 17. Chief Operating Officer Connor Little made the announcement. 

The eight-team league returns for its third season under the leadership of Commissioner John Dolak. Opening Day is set for Saturday, June 5 with a rematch of the 2020 championship game (Brewers vs. Hooks) and the regular season runs through Saturday, July 31. The postseason takes place August 3-7. 

All of the teams – Brewers, Jets, Warriors, Wild (Land Division); Hooks, Long Boarders, Sharks, Waveriders (Sea Division) – play 32 regular-season games. They play four games per week and have two organized team workout days a week as well. All Sundays are league-wide offdays. The complete 2021 schedule can be found here: https://thesandiegoleague.com/2021-schedule

“We are just a few weeks into the offseason and the front office is already itching for summer ball to return,” Little said. “After completing an unprecedented and challenging 2020 season, we are ready to rock ‘n roll again. There is nothing better than a summer in San Diego except a summer in San Diego with summer ball.” 

The 2020 campaign featured players and/or incoming players from 51 different Division 1 schools. There were 18 Division 1 conferences represented, including all in the “Power Five” of the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac 12, and SEC. Twenty-one Division 1 schools in California were a part of the league, including all three in San Diego (San Diego State, University of San Diego, and UC San Diego). 

The 2021 calendar includes Surf Day on Thursday, June 24. All players and coaches in the league will enjoy a day at the beach with longboard surf instruction. The day will also include the inaugural 3-on-3 Wiffle ball tournament. Three members from each of the eight teams, as voted upon by their respective teammates, will play in the three-round tournament. Surf Day includes volleyball, Spikeball, and Cornhole as well. 

San Diego is home to 70 miles of coastline on the Pacific Ocean and 19 beaches. It is also home to more than 90 golf courses, including Torrey Pines, site of the 2021 U.S. Open Championship from June 17-20. 


Do you want more news like this? We're supported by our subscribers and readers!

About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might also like...

North County Athletes in MLB & Minor League Baseball

Read More →