You are here:  Home  >  Calendar >  Vista Irrigation District Board Hold Annual Organizational Meeting

Vista Irrigation District Board Hold Annual Organizational Meeting

By   /  December 14, 2021  /  No Comments


Marty Miller elected president and Paul Dorey elected vice-president for 2022.

Vista, CA—Vista Irrigation District board of directors elected Marty Miller as its president and Paul Dorey as its vice-president for 2022 at its annual organizational meeting. 

Miller, who has served on the board of directors since 2008, represents division 1, which stretches from Gopher Canyon Road to Vale Terrace Drive in Vista.  This will be the third time Miller has led the board since being elected.

Miller, who owned a general construction company for over 40 years, has served as chair of the water sustainability, fiscal policy, public affairs and Warner Ranch committees.  Miller has represented the district on the San Diego County Water Authority (Water Authority) board of directors since 2011; he currently serves as the chair of the Water Authority’s administrative and finance committee and labor negotiations work group and as a member of the engineering and operations committee and financial strategy work group.  Miller is also a director on the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California board of directors representing the San Diego region and an active member of the Association of California Water Agencies energy committee and the Local Agency Formation Commission Special Districts advisory committee.

Dorey has served on the board of directors since December 2006.  Dorey represents division 3, which encompasses central and northeast Vista and unincorporated areas of the county of San Diego.

Dorey has served as the chair of the district’s Warner Ranch, groundwater, water sustainability and public affairs committees and as the district’s representative on the San Luis Rey Watershed Council.  Dorey has also been actively involved with the Southern California Water Committee, Association of California Water Agencies/Joint Powers Insurance Authority and the Groundwater Resources Association, which he helped form in 1992.

Miller and Dorey are joined by directors Richard Vásquez (division 2), Patrick Sanchez (division 4) and Jo MacKenzie (division 5) to form the district’s board of directors.

Vista Irrigation District is a public agency governed by an elected five-member board.  The district provides water service to more than 133,000 people in the city of Vista, and portions of San Marcos, Escondido, Oceanside, and unincorporated areas of the county of San Diego.


Do you want more news like this? We're supported by our subscribers and readers!

About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might also like...

Healthy Community Healthy You – Heat vs Ice

Read More →