You are here:  Home  >  Calendar >  YES Collaborative Hears Presentation from CUSD High School Champions

YES Collaborative Hears Presentation from CUSD High School Champions

By   /  April 19, 2024  /  No Comments


TR Robertson – The monthly meeting of the Youth Enrichment Services Collaborative heard from this year’s Seniors who were selected as Carlsbad Unified School District Champions from Sage Creek High School and Carlsbad High School. The YES Collaborative’s mission is to create a positive environment and safety net for young people in Carlsbad and the surrounding community to flourish and grow by collaborating with agencies and organizations that help young people thrive and resist negative influences. The Champions program comprises Seniors from the two high schools that are selected from applications submitted by interested Senior students. The Champions are involved in a number of activities, primarily visiting CUSD elementary schools throughout the year speaking and interacting with students. At this month’s YES meeting, held at the Pine Avenue Community Center in Carlsbad, those in attendance listened as the Champions spoke about their future plans, what they liked most about the Champion’s program and what it meant to represent their schools as a Champion. All related a variety of memories about the interactions they had with the younger students and how important programs like this is for both the high school students and the elementary school students. A representative from California State Representative Tasha Boerner’s Office presented each Champion with certificates acknowledging and congratulating them for their work in the community and commitment to working with young people.

Carlsbad Champions making presentations to the YES Collaborative audience

The CUSD Champions for 2023-2024 (Colleges they will attend if known)

Carlsbad High School

Ben Redfield – not yet selected

Gabe Bensen – UC Davis

Leela Hunter – Cal Poly SLO

Caroline Jethmal – UCSD

Nate Nicolson – SDSU

Linh Do – UCI

Jackson Campbell – not yet selected

Kethan Cohens – UCLA

Keala Geary – Cal Poly SLO

Tosh Carr – not yet selected

Unable to attend – Jordan Hickerson and Parker Tomlinson

Sage Creek High School

Lucas Smith – Cal Poly SLO

Camila Gomiv – U SB

Brianna Fuller – UCLA

Molly Glass – Cal Poly SLO

Natalie Steele – SDSU

Ariana Ramos – CSULA

Justin Bourdlaies – UCSD

Kaelyn Paparisto – UC Riverside

Ryan Lee – Carnegie Mellon

Camryn Gold – Northern Arizona U.

Members of YES Collaborative and Carlsbad Champions holding their certificates.

The next YES meeting will be Thursday May 16th.


Do you want more news like this? We're supported by our subscribers and readers!

About the author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You might also like...

Carlsbad City Manager

Read More →